According to a report prepared by Laurie Kay Sommer in 1986, "City Hall is an imposing, smooth faced coursed Bedford Limestone Building that sits to the rear of a spacious city block surrounded by a large landscaped lawn in which a Spanish American War cannon is placed. The two story Beaux Arts Building measures 71' x 53' 6 ", with two 8' x 31' extensions, a 6' x 23' rear extension and a 6' x 6' portico. These dimensions go from a gabled central block with hipped roof pavilions to the front and rear. The roof is covered with red tile and the evesline is articulated with icanthus leaf ornaments, a two story pediment portico with an iconic colonnade and a semi-circular arched entry arcade framing the principal building entrance facing First Avenue, while a smaller portico accents the Park Place entrance. Recessed semi-circular arched panels house the double sash windows on the upper story. A porthole window highlights the pediment gable ends and main portico pediment. New metal doors and windows now replace the wood originals. The original crowning cupola, shown in the architect’s sketch (picturesque Alpena 1915) was removed in the late 1950's.